Wholly Health

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Beans, Beans the Magical Legumes… February 26, 2009

Filed under: My favorite things! — aprasek @ 7:06 pm

Here’s my cowboy salsa recipe and my quick & easy hummus recipe… apologies in advance for my lack of recipe writing skills. I can’t follow them and I can’t write them…

 

Cowboy/Cowgirl Salsa

1 can black beans

1 can black-eyed peas

About 1 pound tomatoes (best with romas), chopped

1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

1 avocado, chopped

1 Bell pepper, chopped

Small can chopped olives

Squeeze of fresh lime

2 cloves garlic (less or more of you rather), minced

 Hot peppers (optional)

 

This is easy:  Just put everything in a big bowl. Dress with a cold-pressed EVOO and season with sea salt, pepper, cumin and some hot sauce for extra heat. Of course, if you rather not use canned products, prepare the beans accordingly. You can also use different types of beans (I’ve used kidney, pinto and others). Get creative with the ingredients- change ’em up to make your own yummy salsa.

To serve my cowboy salsa, I add it to chopped cabbage and make a sort of salad. It’s also a great dip for jicama and carrots. It’s fabulous over a potato or wrapped in my favorite brown rice tortillas (with a little hummus spread in the tortilla). Of course, chips are also quite yummy. So many options!

 

Hummus

1 Can garbanzo beans

1 Tablespoon EVOO

2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice

2 Cloves garlic

1/2 Teaspoon cumin

Sea salt and pepper to taste

 

You can throw all the ingredients in a food processor or blender and puree until smooth. However, I like to mash by hand (well, I use a big fork) and have the hummus a little more chunky. Get creative if you like and add some hot peppers, roasted peppers, kalmata olives or other ingredients to liven your hummus up.

 

Share your yummy bean recipes here! I need some new ones, especially ones that make good snacks…

 

 

One Response to “Beans, Beans the Magical Legumes…”

  1. […] HealthWise Living for a Better Life placed an observative post today on Beans, Beans the Magical Legumesâ […]


Leave a Reply

