Wholly Health

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wallet Guide to Safer Cosmetics June 26, 2009

Filed under: Personal Care Products/Cosmetics — aprasek @ 1:04 pm

Lotions and Potions

 

I complain about the cosmetics industry a lot. I know. I’m sorry. But, really (here I go again), these idiots need to clean up their acts!

There are ingredients in cosmetics that are undoubtedly harmful to human health. Yet, these toxic ingredients are still put into our products. Check out my earlier post on the Cosmetic Safety Database. The database will provide you with a toxicity rank for almost any personal care product. Just look up a few of the products you are currently using to see what’s in your bottle. It’s fascinating, frightening and empowering all at the same time.

After my first visit to the database, I ended up throwing most of my cosmetics away. Then I was depressed because I thought I could never feel good about using any cosmetics again. I figured that sans cosmetics, my hair would soon mold, I would have terrible B.O., my skin would flake off and my teeth would fall out. Thankfully, none of that happened. I am now confident that I can purchase products that benefit both my external and internal health.

To help you shop confidently, the folks at the Environmental Working Group have created a wallet guide that lets you know what ingredients to look out for. Print it out, fold it up and put it in your wallet!  Click here to get the guide.

 

Leave a Reply

