Wholly Health

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What’s Your Health Care Story? August 3, 2009

Filed under: Health Care Reform — aprasek @ 2:07 pm

What's Your Health Care Story?

Ugh. I’m sick of hearing what lobbyists and paid-off politicians think about our health care system.

Where are the voices of the people? Where are the real stories that discuss what is working and not working for our health care system? Let’s start the discussion…

What’s your health care story? Have you ever been let down by our health care system in such a way that it significantly impacted you or your family (emotionally, physically, financially, etc.)?

What is working and/or not working about our current system? What changes (if any) should be made?

 

 

7 Responses to “What’s Your Health Care Story?”

  1. Jez Says:

    Thax for postin this. I’m an artist and work at a coffee shop, hence no insurance. It wasn’t a big deal until I got mugged in March. I wasn’t hurt bad, but there was lots of blood and I was pretty out of it. So, they took me in an ambulance and did all these things- of which I’m thankful of. But now, I have a huge bill to pay. I’ve arranged a payment plan, but it’s more than my car’s worth! It’s 20% of my entire montly income. Sucks! It wasn’t my fault I got mugged at 8:00 pm on my way back from work. I wasn’t even out late doin something I shouldn’t of been!

  2. CheeChee Says:

    Oh Jez, my bf went through the same thing! Not cool. I don’t have health insurance either. I have 2 strikes against me- I have a pre-existing condition and I have 2 part time jobs that don’t offer insurance anyway. It just bothers me when the critics say they don’t want to pay for the healthcare of lazy people that could just get off the couch and get a job. Well I have a job- 2 actually! And neither of them provide health care. I even have my BA. And anyway, no insurance co’s will take me because of a pre-existing. Being that I was born with the condition, I find that completely unfair.

    Here’s what’s right about our system: acute care.
    Here’s what’s wrong: everything else. We have to get the private companies out of this. We’ve given them a chance- many chances in fact, and they’ve blown it.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Well I don’t want to pay for your health care so that you can spend you money on something YOU value more than your health. If I have to pay for you, then there is going to be a lot lower standard of care. I am really happy with the standard of care that I pay for. That is the fundamental issue, how much are people willing to pay for others to benefit. I already pay 50% of my income in various taxes and I am not going to continue to work as hard as I do for less, when the people who actually pay the taxes stop working so hard where will the money come from?

    I don’t dislike you, I don’t know you, I just don’t want to lose what I have or pay for something for you that you don’t value enough to pay for yourself. We all need to eat too, but i don’t want to pay for your food either.

    May you be well, may you be happy, may you pay your own way.

  4. Jill Says:

    Anonymous-

    Hmmm… so, next time you call the police or fire dept. I’ll expect a reimbursement check at my door to cover those costs.

    I wouldn’t want to have to miss a payment on my hummer to cover any protection for you.

    I don’t dilike you, I don’t know you, but may you hire your own police and fire dept.

  5. peacehealer Says:

    http://stories.barackobama.com/healthcare Enter just about any zip code in the US for stories about how people are not getting care for their health. And does “paying my own way” include the 30% overhead for insurance companies in contrast with less than 5% overhead for Medicare?

  6. Nikki Says:

    I’m a 21yo student, and I work part time at the university. The insurance costs are way too high, and I am constantly scorned for not having insurance. My university has a doctor’s office, and it’s free of charge to go there (included in tuition), if you have to have prescriptions they’re usually around 10 bucks. I don’t want to go there for gyn stuff, so I go to planned parenthood. I went through physical therapy at my university’s office, and they picked up everything (it was around $700). So, I know how expensive it can get in a hurry–and I didn’t have any sort of surgeries. My glasses cost average of $250 each. I paid out of pocket.
    My parents are farmers, so we had insurance with extremely high deductables and no perks. No eye, dental, ect. The dentists knew this, and they would crunch numbers and adjust the prices to compensate, making them reasonable. Point is, doctors and dentists raise their prices to get more money out of the insurance companies. Insurance companies raise their rates to compensate.
    I think it’s best without insurance period. Maybe there should be Emergency Insurance, but LIKE CRAP I do not want the government to force me to get it.

  7. Aimee Says:

    Nikki,

    Thanks for sharing. Thank goodness your school had services.

    Students get really screwed in this system. It’s unfortunate that we’re leaving college grads with obscene tuition bills along with huge medical bills. Talk about being enslaved by the loans for the rest of your life.

    Such an important thing to take notice of about your parents struggles with insurance. Our current system doesn’t support local business owners, farmers, students, the poor, the middle class, minorities, etc. etc. etc.


Leave a Reply

