Wholly Health

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Let’s Move Campaign February 16, 2010

Filed under: Nutritional Wellness,Physical Wellness — aprasek @ 11:01 pm

I’m lovin Michelle Obama’s new initiative to improve the health of our kids:


http://www.whitehouse.gov/sites/all/modules/swftools/shared/flash_media_player/player.swf

Yesterday, I had a conversation with a friend about the cutting of music, art and physical education in schools. We started to talk about what we remembered in grades K-12… I remember paper-macheing my face in 1st grade to make a mask that we later painted and bedazzled– and I’ll never forget the poor kid who forgot to put the vaseline on his face before the paper mache–  that stuff seriously dries like concrete. I also remember playing TV tag in gym class, having jump rope contests, running around crazy in recess… I remember playing a recorder and a ukulele in music class. I can’t say that I remember anything about my geometry or calc classes… physics was a blur… I hated civics and social studies during those years… typing class was a complete joke…

The impersonal, sedentary, emotionally-devoid style of education we are pressing on our children is likely sucking away much of their later passion for learning. This stage of life should be an opportunity to enliven and enrich the many ways of knowing, begin healthy lifestyle behaviors, develop a passion for learning and an ability to think diversely and compassionately about our life on this earth.

Sorry, that was a tangent. What I love most about this campaign is its focus on attending to the real issues that are contributing to childhood obesity. This isn’t some lame “Exercise More!” campaign. Part of the mission of the campaign is to actually improve the quality of food served in schools, create more opportunities for physical activity in schools and to make healthy foods more accessible and affordable to families. Right on.

Check out the campaign website for more info.

I’m curious to know… what classroom experiences do you remember best from your K-12 days?


 

5 Responses to “Let’s Move Campaign”

  1. Bri Says:

    Ha! I remember getting the wind knocked out of me after falling off the monkey bars in 2nd grade. But, I never gave up on those bars. It happened to me again in 4th grade 🙂 I also remember going on nature walks in science class. Now kids can’t even step outside the classroom without permission slips. That’s LAME.

  2. Becki Bahnson Says:

    I remember skipping that social studies class with you to find our prom dresses! I also remember going to your house to eat during lunch because we probably didn’t want to eat another unhealthy meal in the lunch room. I remember the most, being involved in a sport!

  3. JC Says:

    I remember milk coming out of my nose in 3rd grade & digging for my retainer in the garbage after lunch in 4th… I also remember the fun & caring teachers that nurtured us.

  4. Sara Novak Says:

    Kids didn’t used to deal with such weight problems because they were much more active. When I was a child, I played outside until the sun went down or it was time for dinner. I watched television a few hours a week and had no interest in it otherwise. But times have changed. Television, video games, cell phones, and computers have all led to the growth of the couch potato and with it, obesity amongst kids.

  5. Aimee Says:

    Ahhh, the good ol days of skipping class Becki!

    And totally agreed Sara. We used to play kick the can, sardines, tag, capture the flag… all sorts of games! I wonder if those games are totally extinct now. And add to the obesity, the constant electric stress and disconnection with nature that kids are experiencing. The hubby and I decided not to get a new TV when the digital switch happened. We have a DVD player to watch movies on the old TV, but no more constant (and tempting) distraction of the TV. Best thing we could have done. I absolutely love not having a TV and hope to never purchase one again.


Leave a Reply

