Wholly Health

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Zico. Way Better Than Gatorade. March 22, 2010

Filed under: My favorite things!,Nutritional Wellness — aprasek @ 10:44 pm

I am so hooked on these Zico drinks. They are especially enjoyable after a heated yoga class. Or while laying on a beach somewhere…

The best part about Zico is the nutrition label; basically just some coconut water and fruit (in the flavored ones). Zico also offers electrolytes, a potassium boost and has low-acidity. Compare that to Gatorade products which contain artificial flavors and colors and cheap sweeteners or artificial sweeteners. As much as Gatorade brags about the “science” behind their beverage, they could create a much healthier and more effective product by using natural ingredients.

A Zico hit is not the cheapest though–I’ve found them for about $1.80 each. The price is worth it, but I’m frugal and also love a DIY challenge. So, my goal before summer is to make my own Zico drinks. Any suggestions or tips would be much appreciated… I’ll let ya know how it goes!


 

12 Responses to “Zico. Way Better Than Gatorade.”

  1. Mary Says:

    I LOVE coconut water. I also featured it here a while back http://mulberrymary.blogspot.com/2009/09/swap-out-your-sports-drink.html

    Coconut water came in handy this weekend while I was in Miami soaking up the rays and trying to stay alert in class.

    🙂

  2. Aimee Says:

    I figured you dug coco water Mary 🙂

    BTW, how is it that you have class on a beach while sipping coconut water and I’m stuck in some dreadful concrete basement listening to lectures? 🙂

  3. dynasplint Says:

    if the market or grocery in your area sells unopened coconuts, then you store some of them at home and just open them when needed. its hard to open them and you might probably need a machete. But some shops do peel off the hard, green outer-covering. You can choose not to open them entirely if you’re just after the juice.

  4. Aimee Says:

    Yikes… a machete?!!? I would not trust my chopping skills. I have seen the shaved ones and the young coconuts– those might be safer for me. Thanks so much for the great ideas dynasplint!

  5. Dahlia Says:

    If you like Zico I highly recommend Vita Coco, the flavor is better (less of a metallic taste) and there are cool variations like pineapple and mango with peach. Zico is also owned by Coke, and I try to support less corporate companies.

  6. Brooke Says:

    Sure sure coconut water is good for you, but as a surfer the only kind I like is VIta CoCo. I met my boyfriend over a carton of Vita CoCo because he said any girl that drinks vita coco and surfs knows what’s up. Try the flavored ones too…they will blow your mind.

  7. lola Says:

    I think coconut water is absolutely GREAT. I do LOVE it! I will agree that Vita Coco tastes a lot better… really refreshing and i just the classic all natural flavor!

  8. Aimee Says:

    Dahlia, I just had Vita Coco yesterday! Fabulous! Thank you so much for your comment. The mango with peach is amazing 🙂

  9. Mary Says:

    Where can we get this stuff????????

  10. Clairey Says:

    I agree with you all, Vita Coco is amazing. Definitely better than any other brand out there!! (try it frozen as a smoothie)

  11. Chelsea Says:

    You can order vita coco on amazon. I suggest trying one of the flavored waters and freezing it.. a healthier sorbet!!

  12. Ryan Says:

    Agreed, the peach is FABULOUS. I used to be a huge fan of Gatorade post workout, but now I’m into Vita Coco and can’t even imagine going back to another sports drink.


Leave a Reply

