Wholly Health

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Overnight Walk for Suicide Prevention July 9, 2010

Filed under: Healthy Mind,Take Action! — aprasek @ 7:07 am

Wow, I’ve been MIA for a while, eh? Bout time I got back to bloggin. I miss it and feel like I’m out of the health loop!

Here’s one adventure that kept me busy last week:

I participated in AFSP’s Out of the Darkness Overnight Walk for suicide prevention. Which reminds me, I’m still a little short at reaching my fundraising goal… so, if you’d like to donate to an AMAZING organization, just click here. Thanks so very much 🙂

Gettin ready to walk!

The walk was held in Boston this year and the path didn’t disappoint– check out some fabulous destinations along our 20 mile trek:

Where everybody knows your name...

Cheering section at Fenway!

Name this hockey player (the statue behind us)...

The finish line!

Suicide prevention is a cause that is very close to my heart. I’ll always work for this cause and the more common experiences of suicidal thoughts and/or depression that many of us have faced. On that note, be sure to check out my previous post for my current project addressing these issues.

Some other highlights on my Boston trip…

Back Bay Yoga Studio. This place was awesome! Seriously, if you’re ever in Boston, take advantage of some yoga classes at this studio. They offer all sorts of styles and levels and the teachers are fantastic.

Old Town Trolley Tour: I know, this sounds odd. But seriously, this was the best way to get around and learn about the city! And the conductors were so knowledgeable and entertaining. Totally worth it.

We also stayed at a hostel in Boston… or shall I say hostile– not sure I’d really recommend the place. No air-conditioning, one [nasty] bathroom per floor and, strangely, it was also a residence for women who were dealing with some serious mental health issues. I honestly felt like we time warped to the 60’s and landed at the state mental hospital…yikes. Anyway, it was was a perfect transition to head off to Salem for a witch hunt!

I’m a total ghost-hunter wannabe, but too freaked out to actually “hunt” for the ghosts, I just like to hear the stories (and then sleep with the lights on for the next few nights).

Cemetery next to the witches memorial.

The unlucky ones...

You bet we took pictures at the Pirate museum... but didn't pay to go in.

So, that’s my Boston trip in a nutshell! Please share your own Boston faves if you have them (must-see destinations, healthy places to visit, crazy stories, etc. ).

I hope everyone has been having a wonderful summer! And have a fabulous weekend 🙂


 

Leave a Reply

