Wholly Health

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Reflecting on 2010 January 3, 2011

Filed under: Miscellaneous — aprasek @ 12:23 pm

Happy new year everyone!

I’m not big on new year’s resolutions. They’re often unrealistic and at the same time self-deprecating. Further, self-care, introspection and transformation is an everyday commitment– not simply a Jan 1 activity. Nonetheless, I do like to reflect on the past year and this time around I’m tempted to set a goal (not a resolution!) for 2011. This last year has been especially challenging for me– good challenges, but also ones that I have allowed to overwhelm me and sideline more important priorities. Too many times, my self-care (and sanity) were put aside to finish projects, pick up shifts, volunteer for work activities, and of course, amidst all the craziness that I created, equal time was spent overanalyzing my stress and feeling sorry for myself. What a mess…

So, my goal for 2011 is to do less. Yup, do less. But more than that, I want to be more aware of doing less. What’s happening when I do less? What do I notice? What do I see? How do I feel? Present moment awareness while doing less will likely provide far more nourishment for my body, mind and soul than an overly full calendar.  

I’ve started this goal by taking two less classes for this semester and working 5 fewer hours per week. Money will be even tighter, so the hubs and I moved to a smaller (and cheaper!) apartment, but a space that is far more ‘homey’. I’m looking forward to more time and energy to dive into the things I love or have always wanted to do: writing (finally back to blogging!), cooking, gardening and more yoga.

How about you? What were some of the lessons 2010 offered you? What are you going to create for 2011?

 

Wishing you much love & blessings in 2011!!

 

5 Responses to “Reflecting on 2010”

  1. Jen Says:

    Completely copying your goal of doing less! I always set the new year’s res to drop 25 lbs and it never pans out. Maybe I’m being to hard on myself at the start of a new year. This year I’m going to do less to and enjoy life more.

  2. Mary Ferrara Says:

    Hello! Great to see a new post. I love your goal of doing less. And I love that you will end up having so much more this way too! Looking forward to hearing about your adventures and how you go about doing less!

  3. Shelli Says:

    OK, jumpin on the bandwagon too. Doing less more my resolution too 🙂 And yes, agreed with Mary, we want to hear the adventures- we know you’re super busy but please post more!!

  4. lee Says:

    Me too! And yes, please post more, we miss you 🙂

  5. Aimee Says:

    Yay! So wonderful to hear from you ladies. Please join the do less team 🙂 And please share your experiences, and what flows into your daily life.

    I will certainly be posting more. I totally miss it, but moreso, I miss our convos that happen and the wonderful emails I receive from people sharing their own health stories. So inspiring.

    Lots of love to you healthy, beautiful gossipers 🙂


Leave a Reply

